Do you have enough car insurance coverage to legally drive in Florida?

By Product Expert | Posted in Just For Fun, Tips and tricks on Friday, December 20th, 2019 at 1:39 pm
A stock photo of two vehicles involved in an accident.

How much car insurance is required in Florida?

Everyone is looking for ways to spend as little money as possible. When it comes to owning a vehicle, it can be hard to write that check to the insurance every month because we know that we’re good and safe drivers who always follow the rules of the road. However, that’s not really what the point of insurance is about. These policies are designed to provide protection from other drivers and the unexpected circumstances that tend to follow them. So, how much car insurance is required in Florida? There are a few rules the state requires drivers and vehicle owners to follow. Also, our team found a few other tidbits that people might want to know. Let’s see what they found.

READ MORE: A new crossover SUV joins the Kia family

State of Florida Car Insurance Limits

The State of Florida requires drivers to carry a minimum level of liability insurance only, and it is a no-fault insurance state. This means that when two drivers are involved in an accident, each insurance company covers its own customers up to the limit of their individual policy. Drivers in Florida are required to have enough coverage to meet the following minimums:

• $10,000 in bodily injury coverage per person per accident
• $20,000 in bodily injury coverage for everyone involved in an accident
• $10,000 in property damage liability
• $10,000 in personal injury protection

A vehicle owner or driver won’t be required to carry any additional car insurance policies such as underinsured motorist, collision or comprehensive. However, if the damages in an accident exceed the limits of a policy, a vehicle owner with additional assets could be put in a precarious financial situation.

What happens if I don’t have car insurance?

Since a certain level of car insurance is required in the State of Florida, all drivers are also required to carry proof they have an active and qualifying policy. If a police officer pulls someone over, they will almost certainly ask to see the driver’s proof of insurance. The fines for not having car insurance can range from $150 or $500 and cause a person’s driver’s license to be suspended for up to three years. Modern Kia vehicles are among the safest in the entire industry. In fact, systems are available that can help keep drivers out of potentially dangerous situations. Make an appointment with one of our product experts today to learn more.

Modern Kia vehicles are among the safest in the entire industry. In fact, systems are available that can help keep drivers out of potentially dangerous situations. Make an appointment with one of our product experts today to learn more.